2010 Event Recap

2010 Event Recap

Participants of the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears raised over $20,000 to provide Build-A-Bear Workshop experiences for children with cancer and other serious illnesses.

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER (MVP): John Petro of Harwood, MD is the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears MVP.  The MVP is awarded to the top individual fundraiser.  John, a four-time participant of the event, raised $2,000 in support of the BLUE for Kids program.

ALL-STARS: Matt Cillis and Pippin Gilman took home All-Star honors at the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears.  Matt, a two-year supporter of the event, and Pippin, a four-time participant, each raised more than $1,000 in support of the BLUE for Kids program.

SILVER SLUGGER: Tom Scott received Silver Slugger recognition at the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears.  Tom, a two-year participant of the event, raised more than $750 in support of the BLUE for Kids program.

WINNING MARATHON RELAY TEAM: The Washington Nationals narrowly edged out the Baltimore Orioles for the top relay team by 18 seconds at the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears.  Congratulations to Mike Yeager, Ken Sisk, Matt Cillis, and Charlie Scott. 


1st Place - Nationals (3:51:21)
Michael Yeager, Ken Sisk, Matthew Cillis, Charlie Scott

2nd Place - Orioles (3:51:39)
Robin Brody, John Petro, Tom Scott 

3rd Place - Red Sox (4:04:25)
Leslie Petro, Kurt Black, Kelly Black, Kevin Conway

4th Place - Mets (4:36:01)
Rachel Coning, Samuel Dearth, James Adams, Pippin Gilman

5th Place - Reds (4:53:38)
Douglas Drewyer Jr., Jeff Scheyer, Ashley Thompson, Chris Segal


David Gabel (2:03:38)
Tiffany Roos (2:32:52)


Jeff Eckhaus (31:20)
Tom Jones (34:00)
Jessica Sizemore (40:58)


Ken Arimitsu, Alice Arimitsu, Gerard Ascani, Jennifer Ascani, Christine Dearth, Chelsea Forsyth, Lisa Gira, Tom Honec, Jenna Kettley, Jim Kirk, Tracy Shen, Scott Van Skiver.


Major League Baseball Umpires would like to thank all runners for their time and effort toward this wonderful cause. 

The Baltimore Marriott Inner Harbor for sponsoring the event. Thank you Kelly Sabol and Tiffany Roos for all of your support!
Frank & Nic's West End Grille for hosting a wonderful post-event party. Thank you Christie Abbott and Frank Zafonte for the great food and exceptional service!
Lee Corrigan, Don Abramson, Chris Tomlinson of Corrigan Sports Enterprises for all of your assistance with our runners at the Baltimore Running Festival.
Build-A-Bear Workshop for a donation of stuffed animals and bear-sized baseball uniforms.
Ricky Roberts for the incredible photography and your continued support in donating your time and talents to our events.
All runners who keep coming back year after year to make this a great event!
And to all of the out-of-town runners who covered your own flight, train, hotel, and rental car expenses in order to be a part of a great weekend!

UmpsCare John Petro is the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears MVP.  John raised $2,000 for the BLUE for Kids program. 

UmpsCare (L-R) Matt Cillis, Ken Sisk, Mike Yeager, and Charlie Scott prove a winning combination in the 2010 Baltimore Run for Bears. 

UmpsCare Pippin Gilman, a four-time participant and 2010 All-Star, powers his way through the anchor leg of the relay. 

UmpsCare Tom Scott showing off what the Baltimore Run for Bears is all about.